St Matthew's Church of England Primary School

A message from the Principal

Welcome to St Matthew's 

We are delighted that you have taken the time to find out about life and learning at St. Matthew's and hope we can give you an insight into our happy, vibrant school.

We are officially a GOOD School in all areas following our Ofsted Inspection in November 2016.

As a church school, we hold Christian values at the heart of everything we do.  Every child is precious and unique and we do our very best to ensure that our children flourish and develop a passion for learning, so that they reach their full potential.  Every five years, the Diocese carries out a SIAMS inspection which considers our performance as a church school. Following a SIAMS Inspection on the 2nd February 2017 we were judged to be OUTSTANDING.

Parents and extended family play an important role in a child's learning.  We believe in securing strong partnerships which are formed in the early days and then developed and strengthened as the children go on their learning journey.  Together we strive to ensure that all children achieve and develop into confident young individuals who have high levels of well-being.

Our committed staff are enthusiastic and aim to encourage self-belief in our pupils.  They deliver an interesting and creative curriculum within which learning is based, as far as possible, in real experience.

Please take a look at what is happening at St Matthew's and don't hesitate to contact us if you need any further information.

Charles Daniels


St Matthew's Church of England Primary School

Bowdon Street

Tel: 0161-474-7110



Local governors

The Directors delegate to the  Local Governing Body of each school various responsibilities which vary from school to school.

The term of office of every governor (except the Principal) is four years. The Principal is always a Governor. 

Name Appointed
End of Term Business and pecuniary interest
Charles Daniels Interim Principal Sept 2019   Interim Principal
Mrs. Beth Beecher Staff Oct 2017 Oct 2021  
Rev. David Brewster CDAT Dec 2017 Dec 2021  
Mr. Jim Caulfield CDAT Sep 2019 Sep 2023  
Vacancy CDAT      
Mrs. Lois Haslam CDAT Nov 2019 Nov 2023  
Mr. Kenneth Hazeldine CDAT Mar 2018 Mar 2022  
Mr. Alan Hodgkinson CDAT Jan 2018 Jan 2021  
Mrs. Carole Owen CDAT Sep 2019 Sep 2023  
Vacancy Parents      
Mrs. Leah Taylor Parents May 2018 May 2022  
Mrs. Helen Wetherall CDAT Mar 2017 Mar 2021 Chair of Governors

Files to Download